M-POHL is open to all member states of the WHO European Region. Countries typically participate with one policy or administrative representative and one research representative so that both perspectives can work together in improving health literacy. Participation in M-POHL is voluntary and without payment (pro bono).

So far, 28 member states of the WHO European Region have been participating in M-POHL: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom. New members can join the network any time by contacting the M-POHL chairs.